Cataclysm on the Horizon


This is me installing the Cataclysm beta (sad face).

I “borrowed” a beta key and figured I would poke around a bit, even though I don’t give a toss about Blizzard’s latest expansion pack which is (as usual) being pushed out before it’s ready. The reason that I’m certain about Cataclysm being released before it’s ready is that WoW players are getting bored and canceling their accounts, which means that Blizzard isn’t going to make 20 million dollars this month. This company is terrible about bending to pressure from idiots who don’t actually know how to play video games and feel that WoW is “too hard”, or those that don’t know how to do anything other than complain about trivial crap and waste people’s time. That being said, we’re going to get a buggy piece of mediocrity that is the quick fix to appease the retarded masses.

While I wait for the downloader to finish up, let’s look at what we can expect from Cataclysm, since most people are foaming at the mouth over this expansion pack.

Two new races: Worgen for the Alliance, and Goblins for the Horde. This is typical for WoW expansion packs, as with Burning crusade we got two new races (Blood Elves and Dranei), and in Wrath of the Lich King we got a new class (Death Knights).Ā  I can’t be the only person playing this game that pays attention to lore and other obvious things, and my big gripe here is that lore-wise, Worgen should be a Horde race, and why the HELL would you make a neutral race like Goblins faction specific all of a sudden? If you’re going to cater to the masses, at least be consistent.

Azeroth re-skinned: I can’t say that I’m excited about this. As someone that’s been playing this game from before day one, I’ve already been through “the old world” and I really don’t care to go back no matter how pretty it looks, even though we can fly there now. Yay.

More (newish) raid content: Hurray for new new raids and instances, but I REFUSE to go back into areas like Molten Core, Blackwing Lair, Ahn’Qiraj, Onyxia’s Lair, and all of the other old level 60 instances. My guild knocked all of those out when we were level 60, and that meant going in there several nights a week for 3 – 4 hours a pop. We really put in our bleed time and saw end game content, so Blizzard can kiss my ass if they think that revamping old instances is going to excite people like me. I get that newer players may not have seen some of these instances, but they’re still around RIGHT NOW and it just seems like a cheap thing to do.

New Zones: Obviously.

For the most part, it seems to be the same old stuff with nothing truly new or innovative, and the only reason I’ll be getting a copy and soldiering on is that this is where most of my friends are, and it’s because of them that I have a hard time going through with canceling my account.

Last but not least- Lately I have felt that Blizzard is all about the money (EDIT: I’ve always known that they were all about the money, it just used to be a lot less obvious) – doing whatever it takes to keep the majority of people happy, and unfortunately those people are all whiny bitches that want what used to be a fun and challenging game handed to them. I’ve made a promise to myself that if I’m still feeling this disillusioned after 6 months of Cataclysm, I’m leaving for good and I don’t care if I have to sit here by myself for a few months before Star Wars comes out.

In the meantime, here are the few screen shots I was able to take before crashing and burning.

2 thoughts on “Cataclysm on the Horizon

Leave a Reply

