The Dead Guild Club


I’d been kicking around a few ideas as to what to write about after my “Master Manipulator” article two weeks ago. Corporate gamers? Rift at six months? Loving your healers? An epic love poem dedicated to Fallout 3?

Life has a funny way of solving these problems for me, and as I was contemplating my next topic, something happened that I felt was important to talk about: the death of a guild.

I’ve been in a lot of guilds over the years – some have been successful, some have not. I’ve been a GM, co-GM, officer, raid leader, class leader, and general pleb. I’ve been in guilds that have ranged from a small, casual group of friends to guilds that are highly progression oriented. No matter where I am, or what my role within the guild is, it’s always sad when issues become so great that the guild and its members join the dead guild club.

Last night my Rift guild died. Our death was quick (about a week), but that didn’t make it any less painful. There are a myriad of reasons as to what will kill a guild: poor leadership, lack of knowledge, drama, cliques, massive differences of opinions, bad attitudes, laziness, a lack of team mentality, and takeovers – successful or otherwise.

From where I stand, our guild was killed by the lack of team mentality. Don’t get me wrong, we had a huge amount of team players in the guild and our leadership was some of the best I’ve ever played with, but it only takes a handful of people with the wrong attitude to take a guild down, no matter how hard the rest of the team is working.

Over the course of a week, we had 8 out of 20 of our core group leave. This may seem like a small number, but that’s damn close to half of our highly geared and highly experienced group, and what makes it worse is that 3 of them outright lied about why they were leaving: “We’re burned out on the game”, “We’re going to play with real life friends who are going to switch to Star Wars when it comes out”, etc. 3 others left without saying a word, and the last 2 left because “we joined this guild looking to raid, and you’re not raiding”.

At this point, it’s important to note that we WERE raiding until these people decided to leave, and were making good progress while trying to deal with other issues (recruiting a few more people, getting rid of a nasty clique). It’s also important to note that all of these people went to a guild that had recently exploded and had been one of the top progressing guilds on the server until drama crippled them.

With that in mind, I would like to respond to all of these actions, and if I sound angry it’s because I am. I loved being a part of this guild, and because you all decided to take the easy road and abandon ship rather than stay and try to help fix the problem (because ALL of you claimed to be team players), this guild is dead, the doors are closed. If recruiting quality players was so easy, our few open slots would have been filled a long time ago.

To the first group: Fuck you for lying to to us. We know you’re not real life friends with anyone in that guild, and you’re obviously not burned out on the game. Did you really think we wouldn’t notice that you bounced to a new guild less than a day after dropping? You knew we’d notice, obviously, but you didn’t care. For people claiming to be team players, this is rich.

To the second group: Fuck you as well. You were less about the team mentality than others, but leaving without saying a word is pretty shitty, considering OUR team were the ones that geared you up and got you to the point where you were good enough to join your new guild.

To the third group: You can go fuck yourselves as well, considering one of you was the recruitment officer. How dare you get pissed off about ONE week of less than stellar raiding when you know for a fact that we’re trying to rebuild.

OK. I feel slightly better now after getting that off of my chest. I know it wasn’t professional, but I also don’t care at this point.

2 thoughts on “The Dead Guild Club

  1. I’ve been busy with my Mom, but I’ve got your back. There are rare times when I see the answer, there are others (many, many others) when I have watched the final fight from my back, but hey, I’d rather get yelled at by friends than blithering idiots.

Leave a Reply

